If You Liked Animal Farm, You’ll Love These Books

George Orwell managed to capture the lucid idea behind the word “satire” in his novella. Animal Farm is a story from a group of anthropomorphic farm animals, who rebel against their human farmer, fighting to create a society where the animals should be treated as equal and left free.  Not everybody would have shown keen […]

If You Liked Animal Farm, You’ll Love These Books

George Orwell managed to capture the lucid idea behind the word “satire” in his novella. Animal Farm is a story from a group of anthropomorphic farm animals, who rebel against their human farmer, fighting to create a society where the animals should be treated as equal and left free. 

Not everybody would have shown keen interest towards genres like this. But hey, if you’re here looking to get the taste of it, we aren’t gonna deny it. So, find these collection of book suggestions if you liked reading Animal Farm. 

1984 by George Orwell

Read another of a tale from the master himself. Set in the dour world of London 1984, where Big Brother is always watching you and the thought that the police can practically read your mind. Winston, a simple man, finds the courage to join a secret organisation called The Brotherhood, dedicated to the destruction of the Party. 

A clockwork orange by Anthony Burgess

This brilliant novella experiments with a dense slang and really brings out the satire set in a dystopian world. This is a frightening tale about good and evil, and the meaning of human freedom. The protagonist, Alex, who is a psychopathic delinquent charged with some gruesome criminal charges is undertaken by the government into rehabilitation. But the sponsored experiment goes askew at a cost nobody was willing to pay. 

The Metamorphosis by Franz Kafka

For all the Kafka fanatics this book in this list must be no surprise. This is a classic in Existentialist literature where the author brushes with the concepts of family, transformations, alienation, isolation and more. The story is about a man named Gregor Samsa, who one day becomes an insect and struggles to grasp the reality of his future.

Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

Regarded as one of the greatest works of the author, this novel talks about a futuristic society where books are forbidden. In the world of our protagonist, Guy Montag, a fireman, starts the fire instead of putting them out. A strange neighbour introduces him to a past where people didn’t live in fear and to a present where one sees the world through the ideas in books instead of the raucous chatter of the television.

The Handmaid’s tale by Margret Atwood

Atwood at her best created this dystopian novel set in the future where a totalitarian theonomic state known as the Republic of Gilead, which has overthrown the United States government.It shows a woman’s struggle in a totalitarian society where her identity, fertility and freedoms are suppressed. Through Offred’s journey, the book highlights the dangers of extremist religious beliefs and the importance of individual resistance. Margret gave this unexpected and horrifying yet satirical story that is altogether convincing. 

The Catcher in the Rye by J. D. Salinger 

This is the story of a teenage boy who has been expelled from his prep school. Without any course of action, he is wandering through New York City over a few days, and struggling to come to terms with the complexities of growing up. The story touches on the themes of familial neglect, tension between teens and society, and rebellion. 

Well, we hope the list has given you some idea for your next dystopian, gruesome, grim stories. 

Check out our Wizdom app to get more information.  Enjoy your favorite books anytime, anywhere with our app! Download now for access to a wide range of popular titles, available for both Android and iOS.




Aishwarya

Aishwarya

Often found roaming between the realms of intellect and imagination, Aishwarya is currently practising her third year of Computer Science Engineering. She shares a special penchant towards writing which gives her an ideal way of expressing her creativity in a lucid and insightful writing style. Beyond that she's a voracious reader, an amateur artist and has a knack for Astrophysics.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *