Can’t Hurt Me Book Cover

Can’t Hurt Me

Master Your Mind and Defy the Odds
Book by: David Goggins
Publishing Year: 2018
Reading time: Key takeways: Quotes:

What’s inside

Can’t Hurt Me: Master Your Mind and Defy the Odds is an inspirational story based on the real-life experiences of David Goggins. It teaches you to believe in yourself, and helps you tap into your innermost self and unleash your truest potential. This is extremely useful for the people who are trying to transform for the better by getting rid of all their pain. This book is bound to ignite the spark in you and make you believe that anything is possible through hard work.

Show More
book summary app

Download app now

Lesson 1. Introduction.

An abusive father, a traumatic childhood, toxic stress, fear, and obesity - these were just some of the things David Goggins had to deal with throughout his life. So, when and how did he end up being an acclaimed United States’ Navy Seal and a top-class athlete? His journey hasn’t been simple at all.

Goggins was born into poverty. He never had a normal childhood. He constantly struggled with his fear and other insecurities. But, none of that stopped him from becoming what he is today. An Army Ranger, Air Force Tactical Air Controller, and an ultra-runner, David has managed to set records in whatever he has dabbled in. 

He was also named ‘The Fittest Real Man in America’ by the Outside magazine. In the following lessons, we will see how David overcame all the difficulties and made it to the top.

Lesson 2. Traumatic Childhood.

David Goggins never had the opportunity to experience a playful childhood. Born in 1975, he wasn’t fortunate enough to have a secure and pleasant early life. Growing up, he had a violent and traumatic childhood, because of his abusive father. 

His father, Trunnis, liked to think of himself as a self-made businessman. He owned a roller-disco rink, where David, his mother, and his older brother used to work. The manner in which Trunnis treated his wife and kids was brutally sadistic.

From the age of six, David started working for his father at his disco rink. Not only David, but his mother, and brother were also taken to the rink every day. They were made to work tirelessly until the early hours. 

All that exhausting work left David with no time to sleep. Even in some cases, when he caught up with some time to sleep, he couldn’t. All the loud noises from the disco made it impossible for him to get a good night’s sleep. As a result, he ended up sleeping in between classes at school, failing to concentrate on his lessons.

Lesson 3. Escape from the violent Father.

David was witness to his father’s abusive behavior. Whenever Trunnis felt that his wife didn’t obey his orders, he used to beat her up with a belt. 

David would try to intervene, but would end up receiving the belt bruises as well. Trunnis’ sadistic and abusive nature made life a living hell for David and his family. 

To lead a normal and peaceful life, they had to escape from him. Luckily, when David was eight, they

Unlock Knowledge with Wizdom App

Explore a world of insights and wisdom at your fingertips with the Wizdom app.

  • 1 Million+ App Download
  • 4.9App Store Rating
  • 5000+Summaries & Podcasts

Reviews for Summary of Can’t Hurt Me

Vote: 0

About the author

David Goggins Image

David Goggins is a retired Navy SEAL, he conquered the toughest US special forces training (SEALs, Rangers, Air Force TACPs). Forget accolades. Goggins, despite ultra-marathons, a pull-up world record, and motivational speaking, craves self-discovery throug...

Unlock Can’t Hurt Me Lessons!

Download our app for instant access to the summarized version and Audiobook of 'Can’t Hurt Me'
Can’t Hurt Me Book Cover
Chapter List
  • Lesson 1. Introduction.
  • Lesson 2. Traumatic Childhood.
  • Lesson 3. Escape from the violent Father.
  • Lesson 4. Toxic Stress.
  • Lesson 5. Testing Times.
  • Lesson 6. Achieving Success as a Navy Seal.
  • Lesson 7. New Challenges.
  • Lesson 8. Perseverance and Diligence.
book summary app

Download app now

You May Also Like:


In the summary of Can’t Hurt Me book, there are 8 key lessons. These lessons include:

  1. Lesson 1. Introduction.
  2. Lesson 2. Traumatic Childhood.
  3. Lesson 3. Escape from the violent Father.
  4. Lesson 4. Toxic Stress.
  5. Lesson 5. Testing Times.
  6. Lesson 6. Achieving Success as a Navy Seal.
  7. Lesson 7. New Challenges.
  8. Lesson 8. Perseverance and Diligence.

Can’t Hurt Me by David Goggins was published in 2018.

Once you've completed Can’t Hurt Me book, We suggest reading out Kamala Harris as a great follow-up read.

Yes, the book Can’t Hurt Me is really good to read. 58 people have searched for the book summary on the Wizdom platform. The book summary has a rating of 0.0, 0 on our platform.

In the printed version of Can’t Hurt Me book have over 300 pages and usually takes 8-10 days to finish. However, with the Wizdom app, including its summary and audiobook, it can be completed in just 15 minutes.

Write a Review