Everything is F*cked Book Cover

Everything is F*cked

A Book about Hope
Book by: Mark Manson
Publishing Year: 2019
Reading time: Key takeways: Quotes:

What’s inside

After the huge success of his groundbreaking International bestseller ‘The Subtle Art of not giving a F*ck’, Mark Mason is back with yet another one. In his new work “Everything is F*cked: A Book about Hope”, he takes us by the collar and challenges us to be more honest with ourselves about certain things. He looks at our relationships with money, entertainment and the internet, and how too much of a good thing can psychologically eat us alive. He openly defies our definitions of faith, happiness, and freedom and even of hope itself. The book takes on a social and philosophical analysis on the meaning of life. It teaches the readers to believe that hope must rest on accepting nihilism first, and we must first accept that our lives have no inherent meaning.

Show More
book summary app

Download app now

Lesson 1. Introduction.

Ever wonder why people are seemingly becoming more anxious and miserable despite life getting easier or why the news always seems so depressing? Why aren’t people as happy as they appear to be?


Take a moment to look around yourselves. There’s been a lot of progress worldwide in the past couple of generations. There have been drastic changes in the areas of poverty, education, starvation, child mortality and many more. Yet somehow, as some sort of a paradox, we are still witnessing rising rates of depression and other anxiety issues. What do you think is the reason for this? At first glance, the book almost appears to be an argument for nihilism and a basic assertion, that life is utterly meaningless. But Manson is actually insisting on the opposite.


‘Everything is F*cked’ is a wonderfully accessible book that tackles some of the deeper questions about where our world is headed and how to take better care of ourselves until we get there. It gets straight to the point and uses some tough words for people obsessed with comfort and happiness. But Mark’s advice in the book is constructive and is only meant to motivate us to focus on the important things in life. 





Lesson 2. Hope is built on Nihilism.

Nihilism is the uncomfortable truth of life that most of us prefer not to dwell on. We are quite aware of the fact that all of us are going to be dead someday and our actions and opinions are pretty insignificant. But, do we accept it and not do anything? No. We get out of bed every day with a desire to achieve something. Be it for our friends or family, we strive to work hard and lead a happy life. We do all those things, because we have hope. 

Hope requires a certain amount of self confidence. It gives the person a sense of responsibility over his life. If that is absent, then the person slowly fades into hopelessness. When people feel personally responsible for their own misfortune, or that there’s little chance that a bad situation will improve, they often spiral into total hopelessness. In turn, the hopelessness makes them feel helpless. This happens because of their beliefs about adversity. To recover from a setback, a person must first believe that recovery is possible.

Meaning is derived from our subjective hopes—what we’re trying to do and accomplish. The harder we look for an objective meaning to life, the more we’ll struggle and lose hope altogether. 

Hope, real hope, can’t be built on lies. And

Unlock Knowledge with Wizdom App

Explore a world of insights and wisdom at your fingertips with the Wizdom app.

  • 1 Million+ App Download
  • 4.9App Store Rating
  • 5000+Summaries & Podcasts

Reviews for Summary of Everything is F*cked

Vote: 0

About the author

Mark Manson Image

Mark Manson, the American self-help author and influential blogger, has left an indelible mark with his impactful writings. As of 2024, he has authored or co-authored four books, three of which—The Subtle Art of Not Giving a Fck, Everything Is Fcked: A Bo...

Unlock Everything is F*cked Lessons!

Download our app for instant access to the summarized version and Audiobook of 'Everything is F*cked'
Everything is F*cked Book Cover
Chapter List
  • Lesson 1. Introduction.
  • Lesson 2. Hope is built on Nihilism.
  • Lesson 3. Emotions drive Human Behavior.
  • Lesson 4. Focus on the Present, not on the Future.
  • Lesson 5. The Pursuit of Happiness.
  • Lesson 6. The Three Pillars of Hope. 
  • Lesson 7. Become a better person.
  • Lesson 8. Conclusion.
book summary app

Download app now


In the summary of Everything is F*cked book, there are 8 key lessons. These lessons include:

  1. Lesson 1. Introduction.
  2. Lesson 2. Hope is built on Nihilism.
  3. Lesson 3. Emotions drive Human Behavior.
  4. Lesson 4. Focus on the Present, not on the Future.
  5. Lesson 5. The Pursuit of Happiness.
  6. Lesson 6. The Three Pillars of Hope. 
  7. Lesson 7. Become a better person.
  8. Lesson 8. Conclusion.

Everything is F*cked by Mark Manson was published in 2019.

Once you've completed Everything is F*cked book, We suggest reading out Setting High Bar for your Customer Service as a great follow-up read.

Yes, the book Everything is F*cked is really good to read. 63 people have searched for the book summary on the Wizdom platform. The book summary has a rating of 0.0, 0 on our platform.

In the printed version of Everything is F*cked book have over 300 pages and usually takes 8-10 days to finish. However, with the Wizdom app, including its summary and audiobook, it can be completed in just 15 minutes.

Write a Review