Inner Engineering Book Cover

Inner Engineering

A Yogi's Guide to Joy
Reading time: Key takeways: Quotes:

What’s inside

Inner Engineering: A Yogi's Guide to Joy written by Sadhguru Jaggi Vasudev was published in the year 2016. The purpose this book serves is to be the lifelong companion of its readers. Through the book, Sadhguru guides his readers on their spiritual journey to acquire personal growth by throwing light on his spiritual journey. The book is divided into two parts. The first part consists of five chapters and provides the readers with an autobiographical account of Sadhguru's life. And the second part consists of four chapters. This part focuses on exploring the layers in a human being's identity. The book concludes with a short introduction to the Isha Yoga Foundation

Show More
book summary app

Download app now

Lesson 1. When Sadhguru Lost His Sense.


Those in search of well being should understand the depth in the four-letter-word 'guru'. Guru literally means 'dispeller of darkness'. Sadhguru says, we often generalize the function of a guru is to teach, indoctrinate and convert. On the contrary, guru exists to throw light on the dimensions of life that are beyond our perceptions. The role of a guru is to enlighten us about the mysterious nature of human existence. 


Through this book we get to know how the author was never the teary kind and yet he found himself exploding into a different dimension of existence by crying at Chamundi Hill. He grew up in the sixties - in the era of the Beatles and blue jeans. He read his fair share of the European literature and philosophy starting from Dostoyevsky and ending with Kafka. 

At that very moment, he could think about nothing else except for the fact that he might be going off the rocker. But the view from the hill was so beautiful that he did not want to lose it. On that day what he experienced can not be put into words. According to him, he went up and never came down.


He recalls his childhood days. School bored him so he would simply spend his days roaming the forests, catching snakes, fishing, trekking, and climbing trees. He found the classroom dull but he has always been curious about everything else. The process by which the world is created, the physical terrain of the land, the way people live has always infused curiosity in him. He enjoyed making mental maps of the places he travelled and this is what drew him to the world of Thomas Hardy. He was in love with the English landscapes described by Hardy.


He describes himself to be a diehard sceptic when he was young. Even at the age of five, he started asking theological questions such as Who is God? Where is he? Up there? Where is up?.

His scepticism kept increasing throughout the years and no one ever managed to answer these complicated questions. And so, he never entered the temple. He had a realization at a very early point in his life that he knew nothing about anything.

Lesson 2. Getting into Yoga.


Sadhguru realized that language is nothing but a conspiracy devised by human beings. He realized that when someone is speaking they are just making random sounds and the interlocutor is

Unlock Knowledge with Wizdom App

Explore a world of insights and wisdom at your fingertips with the Wizdom app.

  • 1 Million+ App Download
  • 4.9App Store Rating
  • 5000+Summaries & Podcasts

Reviews for Summary of Inner Engineering

Vote: 0

About the author

Sadhguru Jaggi Vasudev Image

Sadhguru Jaggi Vasudev, an Indian yogi, visionary, and spiritual leader, founded the Isha Foundation. Renowned for his teachings on inner transformation and holistic well-being, he emphasizes self-realization and environmental consciousness. Through yoga, h...

Unlock Inner Engineering Lessons!

Download our app for instant access to the summarized version and Audiobook of 'Inner Engineering'
Inner Engineering Book Cover
Chapter List
  • Lesson 1. When Sadhguru Lost His Sense.
  • Lesson 2. Getting into Yoga.
  • Lesson 3. Fulfilment.
  • Lesson 4. Responsibility.
  • Lesson 5. Body, Mind, Joy, and Energy.
book summary app

Download app now

You May Also Like:


In the summary of Inner Engineering book, there are 5 key lessons. These lessons include:

  1. Lesson 1. When Sadhguru Lost His Sense.
  2. Lesson 2. Getting into Yoga.
  3. Lesson 3. Fulfilment.
  4. Lesson 4. Responsibility.
  5. Lesson 5. Body, Mind, Joy, and Energy.

Inner Engineering by Sadhguru Jaggi Vasudev was published in .

Once you've completed Inner Engineering book, We suggest reading out Maybe You Should Talk to Someone as a great follow-up read.

Yes, the book Inner Engineering is really good to read. 45 people have searched for the book summary on the Wizdom platform. The book summary has a rating of 0.0, 0 on our platform.

In the printed version of Inner Engineering book have over 300 pages and usually takes 8-10 days to finish. However, with the Wizdom app, including its summary and audiobook, it can be completed in just 15 minutes.

Write a Review